Reviews


paulad741

Port Moody, Canada

“The whole package and more”

 

Left on 10/23/2015 for a stay in October 2015

Jill is an excellent hostess. The food she makes for breakfast is delicious, local, wholesome, and plentiful. We stayed in the suite which is completely private with your own deck and hot tub. The location is serene with just enough of a rustic touch to enjoy the outdoors but with all the amenities you need. The views are breathtaking, the beds are comfortable, and the living space is immaculate. You don’t need to worry about bringing anything for the kitchen as it’s all included. There is a nice little free-run on the property and my whippet loved running around with the other dogs. I took my in-laws and we all had a wonderful time. 4 evenings was perfect to see the entire island and this B&B was nicely situated next to Ruckle Provincial Park, the organic farms, and the wineries. It is about 15 minutes from town but it was a great excuse to explore the island.
Lynn Z

“Awesome little gem on Salt Spring Island”

 

Left on 09/23/2015 for a stay in August 2015

It’s our second time staying at Jill’s B&B, we love every second of it! Jill’s super nice & accommodating, our private rooms have everything we needed, we grilled some very delicious local lamb steaks for dinner, and watched the stars in the hot tub at night, it was super relaxing. The view on top of the hill is amazing, the rooms are very clean, cozy and quiet, you can hear the hummingbirds in the morning. Jill prepared delicious breakfast for us every morning, we really enjoyed the smoke salmon quiche and the croissant French toasts. There’s also fresh milk, orange juice, yogurt in the fridge for you to enjoy, and coffee/tea, homemade granolas and more. Jill’s a dog lover, she offered free pet-sitting while we were out dinning or visiting places that pets are not allowed. Our little dog Bailley had a wonderful time there, we already miss her cutest buddies – Big Ben & Little Ray, I wish I can bring them home with me. We will definitely go back to Jill’s place next time we are on Salt Spring, highly recommended if you are looking for a pet-friendly & relaxing B&B on the island.

 

This B&B went far beyond my expectations”

 

Left on 07/23/2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Hummingbird Hill was a wonderful experience. First, between the gardens and the view of the straight, the location is beautiful and very private. Most importantly for us was Jill’s willingness to allow us to bring our dogs. When we wanted to go out for an evening, she gladly took care of them for us so they wouldn’t be left alone.

I highly recommend Hummingbird Hill B&B for anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. This B&B, without a doubt, exceeded all of my expectations on every level. The food was outstanding, the unit was very comfortable, the hot tub had an amazing view, and the hostess was friendly while also being very respectful of our privacy.

Detailed ratings for this rental

  • Bathroom cleanliness
  • Bedding & mattresses
  • Value
  • Access
  • Other facilities & amenities
  • Overall condition
  • Booking
  • Kitchen & utensils

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Friends, Disabilities, Families w children

 

“Relaxing qualities of home with a view like no other.”

 

Left on 07/20/2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation was spacious, clean and welcoming. We were travelling with our two boys ages 8 & 11 and our two mini-schnauzers. The boys enjoyed exploring the surrounding land and the dogs became a pack with the host’s dogs, and at the time of departure after two full days we were all a little sad to be moving on. The host was very pleasant and provided the most filling and wondrous breakfast creations each morning.

 

 

Idyllic Getaway”

 

Left on 07/14/2015 for a stay in June 2015

Upon arriving on the road leading up to Hummingbird Hill B&B, I was greeted by friendly dogs who guided me up to the property.

Perched near the top of a hill on Salt Spring Island, Hummingbird Hill B&B offers a great view of the valley below accompanied by the pleasant chatter of a wide variety of birds, including hummingbirds of course. The patio and master bedroom face east which let you enjoy a beautiful sunrise as well as a view of passing ferries and the distant but still notable lights from Vancouver in the evening. The whole setting was beautiful, idyllic and serene, made all the more so with the option of absorbing the scenery while soaking in the hot tub located just outside the main bedroom.

The accommodations are comfortable and very well maintained. Jill is a wonderfully hospitable host and an excellent cook so be prepared to be stuffed with granola, muffins and other fresh foods! She has built and maintained an amazing little place.

I happily recommend this place to any traveler or small group of travelers seeking a relaxing time in the country side or a base from which to explore what Salt Spring Island has to offer.

 

 

“A Beautiful secluded location and a gracious host made for a great stay”

 

Left on 06/28/2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I stayed here with our family during our wedding on SSI. The Japanese tea house is truly unique, relaxing and secluded. The additional accommodations are more conventional but very comfortable. There are sweet and friendly dogs that wander here and we enjoyed morning coffee on the deck looking out over a commanding view of Salt Spring Island while hummingbirds buzzed around us. The helpful and gracious host has a beautiful well kept house and property. Salt Spring Island can feel crowded but this place feels like an escape.

 

 


Paul B

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

“Wonderful!”

 

Left on 06/11/2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed 3 nights and were so pleased with Hummingbird Hill. The breakfasts were amazing, the room was beautiful and clean and so quiet! The views are amazing with ocean views, mountains, Vancover city lights in the distance and of course so many birds and wildlife. The host Jill was super acomodating and very pleasant. Just be aware if you are a late morning sleeper bring your eye covers as you get full morning sun in your bedroom.

 

“Hot tub with view – suit optional”

 

Left on 06/05/2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hummingbird Hill B&B is one of the finest B&B’s I have ever stayed at. I was in the suite and the bed has the softest sheets imaginable and opens onto a private patio with a view of Echo Valley (next to Ruckle Park) and a hot tub that is so private you can soak naked! I visited the Tea House and it is very Zen and may very well have the finest ocean view on Salt Spring. Jill’s breakfasts are gourmet and substantial. I enjoyed the homemade blueberry muffins very much and the sausage, mushroom quiche could have fed two. A beautiful property and a gracious hostess make for a great get away.

 

“Beautiful getaway, fabulous host”

 

Left on 05/30/2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at hummingbird with family for 2 nights but sure wish it was for longer! Jill was extremely accommodating and completely spoiled us with her homemade dishes (French toast was the highlight… But honestly it was all AMAZING). She is the epitome of your favorite grandma. The view is incredibe which you can enjoy from the hot tub as you listen to the farm animal noises from the valley below. Go to hummingbird, you will not regret it. 🙂

 

 

“A beautiful, peaceful place to stay”

 

Left on 05/29/2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Hummingbird Hill B and B is a wonderful place to stay. It is exquisitely beautiful, tranquil and impeccably clean. Jill, the host, is kind, very thoughtful very accommodating. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds zip around the yard, and there were many! The view from the hot tub is amazing…the night sky was stellar! If you want, Jill will set up a bed outside to sleep under the stars! Thanks for a lovely stay, I would definitely stay here again!

 

“Best place to stay after a weekend of hard played soccer!!!!”

 

Left on 05/20/2015 for a stay in May 2015

My soccer team and I travel to Salt Spring every May long weekend for their annual adult soccer tournament. This year I decided I wanted to stay in a cabin type setting so I could have a good nights sleep and relax after a weekend a hard played soccer. This was just the ticket. Not only did Jill go out of her way to cook us nutritious and delicious breakfasts…the calm serenity of the view, hot tub and peacefulness was exactly what we needed to rejuvenate between games. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Salt Spring Island. Except next May long weekend…as I already have it booked 🙂

 

“stunning setting and views supported by friendly service”

 

Left on 05/11/2015 for a stay in May 2015

we really enjoyed our stay at Humming bird hill B&B. it was easy to find, 10 minutes from fulford harbour and 5 minutes from Ruckle park. It is set on a bluff over looking the gulf islands, so the setting and views are breath taking. There is a hot tube also set on the bluff in the back garden and we enjoyed the view of the gulf islands and stars in the evening. The accommodations were very clean and they worked perfectly for us and my parents. The breakfast alone would bring us back! and Jill, our hostess was very helpful and accommodating. Overall we had a great experience here!

 

 

“Blissful retreat”

 

Left on 04/16/2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely rooms, fantastic panoramic views, hummingbirds , delicious breakfasts, peace & quiet & a very welcoming hostess who accommodated our dietary & other needs. Would love to return someday.

 

 

“Wonderful, private (like having your own house!) place to stay on Salt Spring”

 

Left on 03/29/2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at this beautiful spot this March, and marveled at all of the Hummingbirds, the beautiful view, and the spring flowers, well into bloom. Jill’s breakfasts will keep you going most of the day, and having the extra bedroom worked out very well for us for us as our teenage daughter’s room. In fact, the rooms are so comfortable, and the view so beautiful, you might be tempted to enjoy the sitting area and change your plans for doing anything else! Very convenient for walks in Ruckle Park, the Salt Spring Cheese Co., and Rock Salt Cafe in Fulford. Highly recommended!

 

 

“2nd trip – returned for the spectacular scenery, excellent accommodation, delicious breakfast and fr”

 

Left on 03/02/2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I enjoy staying at various breakfasts on the Gulf Islands and Vancouver Island; however, the Hummingbird Hill is the only that provided such a lovely experience that we felt compelled to comeback. Our second stay was equally as amazing as our first, and it has contributed significantly to some lovely memories around our anniversary and (more recently) my partner’s birthday. Located on a hill on the southern end of Saltspring Island (near Ruckle Park), our suite had a deck right on the back of it that gave us a spectacular view of the local forests and ocean. In a separate section of our suite, we had a good kitchen facility where we could heat up the incredibly delicious frittata skillet, which was delivered to our doorstep in the morning. In addition, the very friendly and kind host of Hummingbird Hill, Jill, makes amazing granola for the guests using her own recipe, which in itself, was a big attractor for us coming back.

Both our trips to the Hummingbird Hill have given us very fond memories around special occasions, and we would strongly recommend the B&B to anyone travelling to Saltspring Island. I definitely imagine that we will be visiting Hummingbird Hill again in the future!

 

 

“Taz’s first nature get away”

 

Left on 02/18/2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had such a wonderful time with our dog, Taz. We were welcomed warmly to the cutest place with a spectacular view and the most decadent breakfasts. The best granola I’ve had! Taz loved it, and next time we hope to stay a bit longer during the warm season 🙂
Would recommend to everyone!

 

 

“Wonderful Christmas Weekend Getaway!”

 

Left on 01/12/2015 for a stay in December 2014

We booked rather late but Jill was very accommodating. She welcomed my family and 2 dogs, no problem. The house and rooms were roomy and what excellent views to the ocean! Breakfasts were served in the suite and included yummy home made muffins. There was a kitchenette to so we could make our own dinners although we chose to try out some of the many restaurants on the Island. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

 

 

“Peaceful and serene”

 

Left on 09/07/2014 for a stay in August 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at the teahouse for two nights. It was amazing! In fact, it was here that we became engaged. It is hard to imagine a better spot.

The teahouse at hummingbird hill is as remarkably beautiful as the photos suggest. As you sit on the porch, you overlook the ocean, hear the wind in the trees, and in the evening, the distant sound of sheep in the pasture. The teahouse itself is exactly what one would hope it to be: spartan, but comfortable; simple, but elegant. Staying here, you will be surrounded by large hemlock and arbutus trees. In the morning Jill placed a tray with coffee and cream at the gated entrance to the pathway which leads to the teahouse. After enjoying your coffee and the morning air, you may work your way down to the garden table outside of the main house where breakfast is served. The breakfast view is no less stunning, and the food is wonderful.

Jill herself is effusive and kind. She went out of her way to accommodate our (my) engagement plans, and treated us like family. While many BnBs may be comfortable (indeed, we stayed at three that week), Jill’s hospitality was incomparable. It is difficult to overstate our appreciation.

If you plan to stay at the teahouse, please note that it is situated atop a rock outcrop which, I suspect, precludes plumbing. A full bathroom is available for you in the main house, and a remarkably beautiful composting toilet is situated under the arbutus tree (behind the teahouse).

 

 

“Clean, comfortable, picturesque, bountiful, restful and a very warm host!”

 

Left on 09/04/2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family of six (25-87 years old) really enjoyed our stay at Hummingbird Hill (Aug 2014). Host Jill Lee is very warm and welcoming, and her home and guest accommodations are beautifully decorated, clean, spacious and comfortable—beyond our expectations. Jill’s breakfasts are scrumptious and bountiful, served with love and care. “Starters” such as fresh fruit, yogurt, and homemade muffins and granola were delivered to our door first thing in the morning. These were followed by frittata or quiche and bacon or sausage, served on the patio overlooking her gorgeous flower garden and the valley below. The weather was perfect for eating outside. We really enjoyed watching the hummingbirds, turkey vultures, Steller jays, deer, a rabbit and, of course, her friendly (and well-behaved) dogs. Hummingbird Hill B&B is very picturesque and refreshingly restful. If we have another opportunity to visit Salt Spring Island, we’ll certainly plan to stay here again. Highly recommended!

 

 

“Rejuvenating retreat in nature, perfect place to reconnect to bliss & solitude”

 

Left on 09/03/2014 for a stay in August 2014

I found this place last minute on a very busy weekend and it was serendipitous.Right off the bat Jill was lovely to speak to over the phone, she was quick to respond back to my calls and she even offered to try and look up ferry routes for me. She was an absolutely wonderful and accommodating hostess and we felt very comfortable on her property even if we came back late or when we had to come in & out to use the washroom facility. The Japanese Teahouse is a breathtaking jewel perched on top of a hill surrounded by greenery and overlooks the forest and water. My favourite part was having morning tea on our private patio and then coming down to the gazebo for breakfast. She made sure to give special attention to my vegetarian diet and made two separate meals for my partner and I which were simply divine, especially enjoyable while soaking up the last few moments of summer. Jill with her great sense of humour , easy going spirit and her dogs (Ben, Ray and Lucy who was visiting) felt like our own family by the end of the weekend and we can’t wait to go back again. This place is perfect for anyone looking for time away from the city to be in nature, in silence and slow down to reconnect with them selves/ each other. Thank you Jill for a much needed recharge!

 

 


  • lilysisi

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

“wonderful BnB makes our getaway at saltspring island memorable”

 

Left on 08/30/2014 for a stay in July 2014

I wrote my reviews for this BnB right away with lots photos after came back from vancouver. However, it was been pend like forever and now it’s just disappear. nevermind, just make sure you wont miss this excellent BnB with lovely owner Jill. everything was great, clean and warm rooms. tasty breakfast,etc. Too many beautiful things you could enjoy being stay here.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Absolutely Lovely!”

 

Left on 08/14/2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay on Salt Spring Island was made memorable by our exceptional hosts, Jill and her four-legged companions Ray and Ben. Jill was very welcoming and I’m still dreaming of the breakfasts that she drummed up for us every day. We loved our accommodations in the Japanese Tea House room, which offered great privacy and the most spectacular views. Very unique and definitely romantic! We had our puppy Mindy with us, and Jill was so kind to offer to watch her when we wanted to go exploring on our own. This was our very first stay in a B&B and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We can’t wait to return one day!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“above and beyond expectations”

 

Left on 08/05/2014 for a stay in July 2014

Upon arrival there were some “issues” to be addressed by previous guests that unfortunately had made additional work for Jill before our large family group’s arrival (4 adults, 2 teenagers, 1 child and 2 dogs). We were quickly accommodated, including our dogs and made to feel very welcome. Jill is a FANTASTIC chef, prepare to put on some pounds after partaking in the indulgent breakfasts that are prepared. An especially nice touch was the “greatest hits” breakfast on our last full day where Jill prepared everybody’s favourites from the week. As we cooked a lot at Hummingbird Jill made additional fresh herbs, utensils and condiments available for us. A fantastic, clean environment with a breathtaking view and fabulous food with a gracious and accommodating host. What more could you ask for?

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Incredible view, food and accommodations”

 

Left on 07/31/2014 for a stay in July 2014

My friends and I had an amazing stay at Hummingbird Hill B&B. The accommodation was spotless and suited us perfectly. Our host, Jill, went out of her way to make our stay a special one. The breakfasts were amazing; freshly baked muffins, fresh blueberries, cherries, etc. a different hot dish (so good) everyday, home made granola, etc. etc. Enough left overs for lunch! As we had a kitchen and BBQ we could make our evening meals, a bonus as we could eat dinner on the deck surrounded by incredible gardens, overlooking a spectacular view. Having the hot tub (all to ourselves) on the deck was the perfect way to watch the sun go down. Did I mention the bathrobes? Just another luxurious touch. Plus we could have our dog stay with us… Plus it was a great price… We all loved our stay and would definitely recommend Hummingbird Hill B&B.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Outstanding service and a beautiful location!”

 

Left on 07/31/2014 for a stay in July 2014

Jill was a great host and helped so much to make our wedding day special. The hummingbird hill Japanese Tea House was really romantic and perfect for our wedding night.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Amazing views-great stay”

 

Left on 07/22/2014 for a stay in July 2014

The rooms were very clean, the hospitality was amazing and so accomadating. The warm muffins were a hit when getting ready early in the morning for my sisters wedding. Jill is so wonderful, friendly, and cares about your needs. All rooms have incredible views, with a relaxed environement. I would reccomend this place to stay, especially if you are visiting the campgrounds, or attending an event at the hall, as it is close to both.

  • AMF724

Victoria, Canada

“Restful, rejuvenating and delicious.”

 

Left on 07/17/2014 for a stay in July 2014

I knew when my friend and I were so warmly and happily greeted by Big Ben and Ray, that our five day stay would be just what we were looking for and we weren’t disappointed. Jill and her entourage were very welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home right away. The view from the Hummingbird Suite, where we stayed, is quite spectacular whether from the deck chairs or hot tub. And yes, there were lots of hummingbirds and beautfully tended gardens with flowers in full bloom. We had a different breakfast each morning; all delicious! From fresh cut flowers in the bedrooms to homemade granola and even umbrellas to take with us to the lavendar festival to protect us from the scorching sun, Jill goes above and beyond to make her guests comfortable and happy. The dog friendly environment was an added bonus for sure. Will definitely return!

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Unbelievable views and a great host”

 

Left on 07/08/2014 for a stay in May 2014

My fiancée and I enjoyed an incredible stay here. Nestled in the forest at the top of a hill, Hummingbird Hill feels secluded, peaceful and romantic. Jill’s beautiful gardens surround the property, including the private outdoor area at the back of the Hummingbird Suite. The views from this secret garden are stunning. You can take your delicious breakfast (which Jill discretely leaves outside your door) to the table here and gaze for hours at the sheep grazing the valley below, the hawks soaring above, and ferries weaving through the southern gulf islands in the distance. And of course, there are plenty of hummingbirds to keep you company! When you’ve eating the last of the filling breakfast you can relax and flip through the interesting books on the island’s history from the well-stocked little library inside.

At night the view transforms as the farmland and channels below turn total darkness. You can stargaze from your very own hot tub and admire the lights of Vancouver in the far distance.

All in all, a fantastic Saltspring experience. We’ll definitely be back!

Show more

  • annnml

Victoria, Canada

“Relaxing and inspiring”

 

Left on 06/28/2014 for a stay in June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hummingbird. We tried both the suite and the Teahouse and did prefer the suite. Everything was included, a spectacular view, wonderful breakfast, hot tub and very peaceful. We also appreciated how welcoming the owner is towards dogs. Ours had a great weekend too!

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Wonderfull Stay at Hummingbird HIll”

 

Left on 06/25/2014 for a stay in June 2014

An amazing venue, great hostess, amazing views, fantastic breakfasts. Jill made us feel very much at home. It is a very relaxing environment in a wonderful setting.

Show more

  • “Beautiful setting, great attention to detail.”

 

Left on 06/21/2014 for a stay in June 2014

A lovely, peaceful location with a great open view, perfect for relaxation. We stayed at the Hummingbird Suite ( with lots of hummingbirds around), which was perfect for 3 people. The hot tub deck with a view is hard to forget. Everything was comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious and very complete. The dogs and host Jill were so discreet ,you hardly knew they were around, and yet, they completed the picture.
A great 2 night stay: would go back in a heartbeat !

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“Absolutely fabulous!”

 

Left on 06/02/2014 for a stay in May 2014

Wow what a lovely BB. Hummingbird Hill is the best BB we have ever stayed in. 2 wonderful nights. The bed was so comfy! Lovely views from the desk! Jill is a gracious host, and makes wonderful breakfasts! they are so yummy! This is our second stay here, and we will always come back and stay at Hummingbird, when we come to Salt Spring! Very dog friendly! We have two schipperkes, and they had such a good stay. They played with the resident dogs. This is a very special place and recommend it highly. Janna

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“A Perfect Family Getaway”

 

Left on 05/27/2014 for a stay in May 2014

We (family of 4 and dog) stayed at Hummingbird Hill over this past Victoria Day weekend and had a fabulous time. The suite is homey and comfortable for sure, but where the place really shines is the view: we spent most of our time out back enjoying the beautifully done garden, delicious breakfasts on the patio, and relaxing hot tub, all while marveling at that wonderful view overlooking the meadow and out to sea. Enjoyed hearing the ‘baa’ of sheep in the evening, watching the ferries come and go at a distance, and observing the hummingbirds flying all around. Even our dog had a great time–the suite is fully fenced in so he could run around freely, and playing with Jill’s dogs made him very happy.

Overall, we were just so impressed at all the nice little touches here and there. Jill has really put a lot of thought into creating a warm, relaxing retreat. We highly recommend it.

PS. it is about a 5 minute drive to Ruckle Provincial Park from the Hummingbird–highly recommend walking along the coastline trail there as well–beautiful!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

“A little piece of heaven!”

 

Left on 05/25/2014 for a stay in May 2014

My dog, Susie, and I have just spent 2 absolutely delightful days at Hummingbird Hill B and B. The situation was beautiful, high up and looking out over the Gulf Islands. I woke up the first morning and watched the sun slowly rising. I ate my very good breakfast on the patio, listening to birds sing and bees buzz in the wisteria. I could have sat there all morning but decided I had to see something of the island. I visited Fulford Harbour – a very short distance away where the ferry comes in from Victoria, then drove to Ganges – about a 25 minute ride through lovely country side. Restaurants of every kind, art galleries, artist studios, farm gate shopping and much more are all waiting for the visitor on this lovely Island, but my choice was to get back to the peace and quiet of Hummingbird Hill. If you have a dog this is the most pet friendly place I
have ever stayed at. A perfect B and B. Oh yes and the hot tub with its beautiful view was wonderful!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Victoria

“A Great Place to Stay”

 

Left on 05/11/2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a very short amount of time, but it was a great location and the host treated as very kindly with her little friends (her dogs). It was an amazing stay. I am so happy that we have chosen Hummingbird B&B; to stay in Salt Spring. The beautiful view was amazing. It was too bad that we didn’t have enough time to use the hot tub, but there will be totally a next time if we decide to go to Salt Spring for a weekend get away. I would totally recommend this place to the fellow travellers. Everything you see in the pictures are exactly what you get plus a great service.

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Victoria

“This place is truly a gem”

 

Left on 05/05/2014 for a stay in May 2014

If your going to Saltspring, you must stay at the Hummingbird B&B;, it’s a self contained suite with the most spectacular view and a hot tub to enjoy it with. If your looking for at little R&R;, this is the place to stay. The suite is very clean and truly makes you feel like your at a home away from home. Jill, your host has the most amazing gardens that really put the finishing touches on the wow factor. The pictures on the site really don’t do the place enough justice. This is truly one of those gems that you find and never want to leave and the price is great.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Friday Harbor WA

“A cozy, comfortable perch for 3 humans and a dog.”

 

Left on 04/26/2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a cozy, comfortable, charming place to stay when visiting beautiful Salt Spring Island. Only 15 minutes from the ferry in Fulford Harbour, and close enough to Ganges for a dinner out. Perched high on a hill with an expansive view looking east over the valley and to the water and traversing ferries beyond. There were 4 of us — 3 humans plus a dog, and we stayed in the Hummingbird Suite and the Goldfinch Room directly above the Suite. The accommodations were just right for us! We were able to all eat breakfast (included in the price of the room) together in the Suite — the food was fresh, local, deliciously prepared, and more than ample. Our hostess was not only a good chef, but friendly and helpful to human and dog alike. True to its name, there were hummingbirds everywhere!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Excellent Dog-freindly B&B; with breathtaking views!!”

 

Left on 04/23/2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over the Easter long weekend, we absolutely loved the place! It’s very quiet on top of the hill with breathtaking views and the rooms were very clean and comfy. The kitchen isn’t big but it has everything we needed (from kitchen towels to tin foil to aprons…pretty much everything you can think of). The breakfast was delicious and we really liked because it was a bit different every day – we like surprises =) During our stay, we had homemade muffins, croissants, French toast, bacons, fresh fruits and hot egg dishes. Our host Jill is super nice, friendly & accommodating, her dogs – big Ben & little Ray were so fun to play with! We will definitely come back…maybe during the lavender fest next time~ Thank you Jill! =D

Show more

  • Patty5830

Victoria, Canada

“Beautiful location”

 

Left on 03/16/2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed with a friend at the Hummingbird Hill Bed and Breakfast this past weekend for the first time. The accommodation was clean, well-equipped, spacious, BEAUTIFUL view, and dog-friendly. The breakfast was superb and the owner was very friendly. I would recommend this B & B.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Amazing Stay at the Beautiful Hummingbird Hill B”

 

Left on 12/02/2013 for a stay in August 2013

Hi Jill,

We have reminisced over and over about how great our stay was at your B&B; in the Tea House. Today we’re baking the delicious granola recipe you served us for breakfast. We’ve really wanted to express our gratitude for your amazing hospitality as you truly made our trip to SSI phenomenal!

To anyone looking for a B&B;, we couldn’t recommend a better host, a more beautiful location or more delicious food! Jill made our stay incredible from the moment she greeted us until the moment she bid us “until next time”. Guaranteed there will be a next time and we’re already looking forward to another weekend of R&R; with Jill.

Best regards,
Dane & Penny

 

  • “Idyllic getaway for us and our pup!”

 

Left on 11/24/2013 for a stay in September 2013

I’ve been meaning to write this for ages, but it never fell off my to-do list because we wanted to be sure we let everyone know what a great time we had at Hummingbird Hill and with Jill. The teahouse is a super cool little spot for a couple who doesn’t mind the outdoor toilet (which is pristine and even smells good!). Jill’s food was incredibly delicious (we took out leftovers on the ferry for lunch), plentiful and available right when we wanted it. The attention to detail with coffee waiting outside the teahouse in the morning was so sweet and thoughtful. Everything was awesome. On top of that, our puppy James Brown fell in love with Jill and her dogs! She took care of James while we went to dinner, which was a real treat for me and my partner. We can’t recommend Hummingbird Hill enough (the view is to die for). We tell all our friends, and now we’re telling you!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Salt Spring Island

“Everything here is superb!”

 

Left on 11/20/2013 for a stay in November 2013

Hummingbird Hill seems to have the best of everything: magnificent views, best-feeling area of Salt Spring Island, lovely Japanese styling, the most gracious and caring hostess who makes the ultimate granola- which was only part of our delicious breakfast!

Hummingbird Hill offers rare high quality- everything here is cared-for meticulously and is beautifully appointed. The spacious suite is private and elegant…and totally cozy during our visit on cold and clear November 19th. So no need to bring books; the collection here is outstanding. The peaceful environment and excellent beds encourage sound sleep…staying here was a delight!

Show more

  • COASTALDAHLING

Salt Spring Island

“Amazing hospitality with view second to none.”

 

Left on 11/05/2013 for a stay in December 2012

From the moment I arrived Jill was friendly and accommodating. The suite is beautifully done and looks out over the valley and across the water. Theres even a hot tub on the devk!
Quiet, clean, serene and restful. She baked fresh muffins in the morning and I had coffee outside on the deck.
I stayed once previously in the summer when the hummingbirds were everywhere – up in the Teahouse that time.
The two resident dogs are a bonus. Adorable.
I would recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a fabulous spot at a bery readonable price!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Victoria

“Restful stay, delicious breakfast!”

 

Left on 10/09/2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great family stay. Very comfortable, quiet, and accommodating. Jill is kind, friendly and a great cook.

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Simply fabulous!”

 

Left on 09/10/2013 for a stay in July 2013

My parents came to visit me in Vancouver for a month and I wanted to take them on a mini getaway to one of the Gulf Islands for a weekend. My bf and I decided on the Hummingbird Hill cabin because of what it was offering online. The pictures of the cabin instantly grabbed my attention and it gave me the feel that it was cozy and relaxing. The hot tub is a bonus and the breakfast included makes it more delightful. The minute I spoke to Jill on the phone, I knew this was the place I wanted to take my parents. Upon our arrival, the views from the cabin were breathtaking and simply spectacular. The master bedroom has a door and when you walk out, you get the most incredible view. Sitting outside in the mornings and sipping on the coffee (which was provided) was so serene and the all you could hear was you sipping on the coffee because it was so calm and just relaxing. Jill provided us with everything imaginable, even a coffee grinder to grin some of the most amazing coffee from the market there! She was so sweet and hospitable. We bought fresh fish every night from the market and cooked it on the grill that comes with the cabin. My parents had the most amazing experience here in Salt Spring and my bf and I will definately go back and maybe try the Japanese Teahouse this time, which we took a quick look at and it was just beautiful! Not only is this a must for staying at the cozy cabin, but the view from the cabin is a must-see!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Tranquil Oasis”

 

Left on 09/08/2013 for a stay in August 2013

Amazing first Bed and Breakfast experience. We were greeted by Ben and Raymond, who were the friendliest dogs and our lovely host Jill, who made us feel at home. The Japanese Tea house is situated on top of a hill next to the main house which is gated off for privacy. The house is super cute, unique, and has an amazing view from the deck.

The breakfasts that our host made were plentiful and delicious! Breakfast was especially enjoyable sitting by Jill’s beautiful garden overlooking a scenic skyline. It was so peaceful and relaxing as we ate and enjoyed the nature that the garden attracted, such as hummingbirds; among the various birds that were fluttering around the property!

Jill’s bed and breakfast nestled in the back roads of Salt Spring Islands is a gem not to be missed! We would totally recommend this place and would love to come back again soon!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Fredericton

“Perfect Little Japanese-Themed Escape – Relaxing and Romantic!”

 

Left on 09/03/2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our stay at the Teahouse at Hummingbird Hill was absolutely fantastic. Jill’s breakfasts were incredible – frittata, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, quiche, muffins, and by far the best homemade granola I have ever tasted! The view from the Teahouse is breathtaking and there is plenty of rock and forest behind to walk around. The outhouse is super clean and cool and there is also a private bathroom in the main house with a shower, sink, and toilet. The place was conveniently located near Fulford Ferry Harbour and Ruckle Park – not even a ten minute drive to Ganges. Jill had two great dogs – Big Ben and Lil’ Ray. They were so friendly and adorable but will leave you alone if you prefer.

It was great for a young couple on a romantic escape. Jill was a very kind host and made sure our experience was comfortable and memorable!

C

Show more

  • TwofromNY

NY

“Peaceful and beautiful”

 

Left on 08/23/2013 for a stay in August 2013

The teahouse was a perfect getaway from our busy family life. The location and views are spectacular and the teahouse was like a peaceful oasis. We only stayed for two nights, but it felt like a restorative and restful time. Jill was a fabulous host and prepared beautiful breakfasts for us.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“A Wonderful Rest for Weary Workers”

 

Left on 08/20/2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our week stay (7th night free!)at this B&B; on a mountain-top on Salt Spring island was a quiet and private time. Our host had prepared a spotless home away from home for us, and pampered us with fresh and delicious breakfasts each day made from delicious ingredients. The portions were generous and was our host in being ready to replenish anything as we used it. The location on a mountain included a fantastic view with a spotless hot tub in a private setting. We felt welcome although we didn’t see our host unless we required something. We also took our dog, and Jill was more than happy to keep the dog while my husband and I toured around. This B&B; was an also an excellent value. I hope to return on our next trip to Salt Spring. But next time for 2 weeks!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Perfect”

 

Left on 08/14/2013 for a stay in July 2013

This B&B; experience was simply perfection. I came here with my girlfriend for two nights in July, and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Jill was an amazing host; very friendly and accomodating. She also makes a very delicious and abundant breakfast!

The Teahouse itself was a very unique experience. It’s private, and separated from the mainhouse, situated on a hillside with the most breathtaking views. It was decorated beautifully, and very clean and comfortable. The mini fridge was also a nice touch so we could bring our own treats back from town. The landscape was gorgeous, and our two dogs were able to run free around the area.

This was our first time to Salt Spring, and it certainly won’t be our last. We will definitely be back to Hummingbird Hill! Thanks again Jill!

  • “Completely unique and really special.”

 

Left on 08/12/2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our kids recently treated us to an overnight at the Hummingbird B&B; on Saltspring Island. We stayed in the completely charming and uber cozy Japanese Teahouse room. It is situated above the main house, so very private. And, the view was jaw-dropping. We had a great night’s sleep and were treated to a huge, healthy and delicious breakfast complete with Jill’s homemade granola and a hearty fritatta. We ate on our private deck and enjoyed the view. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for something a little different – a one of a kind place. We loved it.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“soak away your cares amidst a stunning view”

 

Left on 07/23/2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a lovely time at the Hummingbird Hill B&B; on Salt Spring Island. Perched on a cliff edge with it’s stunning view, hot tub and delicious breakfasts, this B&B; was a wonderful getaway that we would recommend. There was a little confusion when we arrived early as we had not been informed of a check-in time, so we were told to come back while Jill, our host tried to quickly prepare the rooms. Then the hot tub wasn’t quite prepared, but once we got these blips sorted out we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B.; Jill even kindly brought our small troop of kids on a tour of the neighbours farm to meet the livestock and see the incredible hens that lay multi-coloured eggs. In general, it was a relaxing and comfortable accommodation set in lovingly tended grounds with Japanese inspired design elements.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Truly delicious”

 

Left on 07/09/2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were only able to have a little taste of this fabulous setting but the short stay was nothing short of marvelous. Morning coffee overlooking the lush Salt Spring landscape while listening and watching hummingbirds having their breakfast, followed by the delicious, monstrous homemade breakfast made by Jill that she quietly delivered to our door in the morning. Dips in the cliff-top hot tub. Resident dogs to occupy our own puppy, and Jill even happily looked after our dog while we were attending a party. Nicely appointed space with comfy beds, spacious bathroom – good shower! – kitchen amenities and quiet. And Jill was always on hand to address any need we had. Most wonderful was that upon check out, all we needed to do was pack our things and leave – no laundry to do, dishes to clean, etc. Our only wish was that we could have stayed longer.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Saanichton

“Delightful hilltop relaxation with quiet and birdsong – a gorgeo”

 

Left on 06/30/2013 for a stay in June 2013

We give this bed and breakfast the highest rating for delightfulness, comfort, and delicious food! Jill was exceedingly welcoming and creates beautiful healthy meals! Our first night was so peaceful and enjoyable, we asked if we could stay another night in the teahouse, and were so happy we could! Highly recommended!! If you love nature, and especially birds, you’ll enjoy the fresh air of the hilltop beauty, and watching the swallows, nuthatches, towhees, hummingbirds who also live here. The teahouse is beautiful – a lovely porch to just sit and enjoy the water view over the islands. Thank you Jill!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Victoria

“An oasis on Saltspring!!”

 

Left on 06/12/2013 for a stay in June 2013

My boyfriend and I, and doggy daughter, recently stayed 2 nights at Hummingbird Hill for my birthday.

It was more than we could have asked for! The suite itself was very clean and inviting, with fresh flowers from the garden.

The view is absolutely amaazing, being on the top of a steep incline, that went down to a meadow/pasture, and in the background, the ocean with BC ferries crossing hourly.

The sounds of nature and watching eagles soar (we were above them!!), and being entertained by the ump-teen hummingbirds dancing around the feeders…

Jill, Ben and ‘lil Ray were the best hosts. The breakfasts were to die for (especially the Frittata – OMG!!) – Jill can really cook!!! What a treat.

If you’re looking for a wonderful get-a-away, hidden in an oasis in the woods – you need to check out Hummingbird Hill.

My boyfriend and I will Definately be back again!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver Island

“A beautiful and peaceful location adds to the charm of this comf”

 

Left on 06/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were looking for a place to catch up on some much needed rest and to ‘squeeze the sponge’ after some hectic weeks and Hummingbird Hill was just the place! We were also recently married and it was my wife’s birthday so we were also looking for a romantic location. Hummingbird Hill did not disappoint and was highlighted by a private hot tub for star-gazing and we even set the alarm for a soak while catching the sun-rise. Jill is a perfect host who gives you privacy yet is always nearby should you need anything. Also a modest cook, the breakfasts were very good!!

Show more

  • Jennifer and Lynn

BC

“Relaxation and peace on Hummingbird Hill…Absolutely perfect ge”

 

Left on 06/09/2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were married at Hummingbird Hill in May 2012 and we could not think of a better place to return to for our first anniversary. Once again, our host Jill, went out of her way to make our time on Salt Spring memorable in so many ways. Her incredible breakfast granola, egg frittata and quiche and yummy baking are enough for both lunch and dinner. We fell in love with Salt Spring Island and we will stay no where else but at Hummingbird Hill upon any subsequent returns…just cannot imagine a more suitable place of beauty and peace than at Hummingbird. Thank you so much Jill for your warmth and many kindnesses. We find it incredibly hard to leave your home when it it time to go back to the mainland but we know it is always there for us to come back to. For anyone vacationing on SSI, you will love this B & B…we highly recommend it. Enjoy 🙂

Show more

  • Diane

BC

“Fabulous and Full Force Friendly!”

 

Left on 05/21/2013 for a stay in May 2013

I and 5 friends spent a wonderful weekend at Hummingbird Hill. Jill was so accommodating and there was a bed for each of us. The views were spectacular 24 hours a day. And every direction you looked the gardens were delightful and varied. Jill gave us lessons on flowers, dogs and the crowd of hummingbirds.

The breakfasts were amazing and and delightful to watch being prepared as I drank freshly ground Saltspring Island coffee. She was so careful to accommodate our special requests and needs.

We had the freedom of the grounds, gardens and I got to sleep in the Teahouse where I was sung to sleep by tree frogs and awakened softly by the birds in the morning just in time to sit and watch the sun rise over the view. Sigh.

There was lots to see on Saltspring and we went to the Goat Cheese factory/farm, wineries, a brewery and the Lavender Farm. The Salt Rock at Fulford Harbour has great everything.

Most of the time we enjoyed the open living space or decks with great clean air. Thanks, Jill, for making this a very special weekend for bunch of “Girls”.

Love to the puppies.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Thorold Ontario

“A Gorgeous and Peaceful Retreat”

 

Left on 05/16/2013 for a stay in April 2013

From the moment we arrived we were warmly and openly welcomed by our wonderful host Jill. She did everything to make us feel as though we were right at home, and what a home it was! Breathtaking vistas came from all quarters and never ceased to amaze. Our rooms were generously sized and immaculately clean. We were delighted by the resident K9 company of Jills Golden Retriever and Corgi, Ben and Little Ray.
The perfect spot to quietly enjoy prvacy and solitude or to venture out and enjoy all the Island has to offer. We would not hesitate to return, and highly recommend this beautiful getaway to anyone!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Surrey

“If you are seeking tranquility – this is it!”

 

Left on 03/28/2013 for a stay in March 2013

Peace, tranquility, beautiful sunrises, pastoral views, ocean views and bird song. All of this, plus a welcoming hostess and her two friendly dogs. We were two stressed out good friends seeking a few days of comfort along with my friend’s Cocker Spaniel. Finding a very well equipped self-contained b & b that welcomes pets was just a bonus. Jill makes the best granola we have ever tasted and made sure we had everything we needed. Located in the sunny south of the Island, near wonderful Ruckle Park, the wineries, an operating cheese dairy and much, much more. The only thing that could have improved our comfort would have been a nice big foot stool! Needless to say, it was a wonderful stay and we’ll be back.

Show more

  • “Artful surprises await you atop the rural track to this remotely”

 

Left on 11/15/2012 for a stay in November 2012

Our gracious host provided a generous selection for a fix-it-yourself breakfast, including homemade granola, ham, eggs, toast, fresh fruit salad and delivered to your door in the morning: fresh baked muffins.
The cozy bath robes allowed us to enjoy breakfast in our comfortable and well stocked suite, the gas air tight fire adding to the coziness.

The rooms are comfortable (one very generous in size)and tastefully furnished, and bathroom is totally modern.
The hot tub on the terrace overlooking the valley far below and the distant islands was a treat.

A highlight was the asian influence in the architectural details of gates and fences, the work of a brilliant artist and craftsman. To our delight and surprise, an amazingly site sensitive asian garden, including pond, plantings, and paths leading to a surprise Japanese tatami pavilion at the top of the garden taking in the view! Our host took the time to share with us her passion in creating this hidden piece of paradise. A delightful encounter and a place to stay longer.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Moses Lake

“Yes!”

 

Left on 11/07/2012 for a stay in October 2012

It’s a steep stretch up amblewood Drive to Jill Davis and her hummingbird Hill B&B; but the climb is worth it. Jill operates her Salt Springs country establishment in a venerable two-story house with cunning fences and gates, intricate and picturesque walkways up and down the five acre spread. Rooms are available or the entire lower floor for very competitive rates; hot tub out back and plenty of healthy exercise in the nearby woods and on the mountainous roads.

We’re both writers and visited during the rainy season of late October, spending much of our time holed up inside with virtual pen to electronic paper so after scones, fruit bread, homemade granola and fresh country eggs we appreciated (and required) some of the fresh sea air and aerobic country walking to keep in trim.

Jill loves dogs and shares the property with Ben and Raymond who will greet you at the gate. Our own Sally, Blue Heeler extraordinaire enjoyed the company two and four-legged as much as did we.

Salt Springs island is a 30-minute ferry ride from Vancouver Island. It has a number of small communities, artesan businesses, studeos and holistic farms. Coming off the ferry at Fulforth harbor it’s best to take a left onto the winding but reliable main road and keep on to amblewood where you’ll take a right up the hill to Jill. If you reveal you’re a writer she’ll tell you stuff!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

North Vancouver

“A better than a 5 star stay, designed with love!”

 

Left on 10/01/2012 for a stay in September 2012

Jill Lee has masterfully designed a paradise off the beaten track. Just a 10 minute drive from Fulford Harbour is one of Salt Spring Island’s best kept secrets, Hummingbird Hill. As you pull up amblewood Drive, you are greeted by two of the friendliest dogs (Ray and Ben) belonging to the owner, Jill. She welcomes you with open arms into a spacious, cozy, and well appointed guest suite adjoining the main house.

This was my second stay at Hummingbird Hill, this time in the master bedroom with ensuite patio leading to a newly installed hot tub overlooking majestic agricultural land and the BC Ferries route a few kilometres off in the distance. We woke up watching the sunrise and as it’s named for, graceful hummingbirds sipping from feeders at various points around the house. The only sounds you here are that of the hummingbird’s wings.

For breakfast, Jill has provided a fully stocked fridge with everything you need for a healthy start to the day, along with decorative baskets filled with assorted teas and cereals. With love, she gets up early in the morning to prepare a fresh batch of her like-no-other homemade granola, basket of fresh-baked goods, and an elegantly prepared fruit bowl.

If you prefer a more zen experience, Jill has also constructed a Japanese Tea House overlooking the main house and beautiful gardens. I’ve also had a very peaceful night’s sleep in the teahouse; ideal for a spring/summer/fall getaway. Breakfast is served in the gazebo, a mere few steps down a well lit and clear path from the tea house.

Plush robes, beach towels, silky soft linens and a fireplace help make hummingbird a cozy getaway for a rainy weekend, too.

Not far from Jill’s place, enroute to Ruckle Park is a new cafe called “Kizmet”. It’s a great place to fill up on your favourite latte as you leave or return to Hummingbird Hill. The Saltspring cheese farm is also a short drive away; a recommended visit as there is less competition for sampling when you go onsite.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Toronto

“Hospitality to the wazoo!”

 

Left on 08/20/2012 for a stay in August 2012

My stay was absolutely lovely! The view from the Japanese Tea House was breathtaking. Jill, Ben the friendly Golden Retriever and Little Ray, the newly adopted Corgi make you feel at home. It was a wonderful stay.

Show more

  • MoominTraveller

Canada

“A peaceful retreat in the woods with all the comforts of home”

 

Left on 08/05/2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Hummingbird Hill! Jill is a great host; she is warm and friendly but also gives you space and privacy. The suite is private, clean, beautiful, and spacious. We spent plenty of time just lounging around and relaxing, reading and playing board games.

The breakfasts are tasty,and the private garden deck is a nice place to enjoy them. It has a beautiful view, and you can sit and watch hummingbirds compete for the feeder–we saw them every time we were out there. The location is gorgeous; even though the town of Ganges is easily accessible from here, we felt like we had made a real escape to a peaceful retreat.

We found the kitchenette with fridge very convenient because it meant we could store the goat cheese that we bought down the road at the Salt Spring Cheese Company and have some snacks while relaxing in the evenings.

Hummingbird Hill is also dog friendly, which is a real plus for us. We felt like our dog was not just tolerated but actually welcomed! Jill’s own dogs are friendly and adorable too.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this B&B;!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Peaceful, vibrant getaway”

 

Left on 07/23/2012 for a stay in July 2012

Sit on the lovely patio gazing at a serene valley as boats trace the harbour and hummingbirds literally zip by. The gardens are lush, the beds are soft and inviting – even the bathrobes make you want to snuggle in. It was wonderful to relax in this hilltop haven and Jill is a great hostess who senses well the level of interaction you need. Loved the surprise baskets of goodies outside our door in the morning. We had a beautiful, relaxing weekend and our kids loved the birds, bees, butterflies – and the dogs!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Chilliwack

“A truly magical experience, never to be forgotten!”

 

Left on 07/22/2012 for a stay in May 2012

Our stay at the appropriately named Hummingbird Hill B&B; (the place is kindly co-habitated with the wee birds) was absolutely perfect! The privacy, comfort of the bed, marvelously beautiful setting and amazing hospitality from Jill and her canine friends made our wedding/honeymoon a perfect event. Jill extended her generosity in ways we could never fully describe, provided in a non-intrusive, unlimited manner. Fresh fruit and homemade baking, the hot-tub overlooking the woods and valley below, the sounds of the hummers and the sheep in the fields…it really filled all the sense pleasures one could imagine. Thank you again Jill!!! We will return.

Show more

  • Jen

BC

“A great getaway!”

 

Left on 07/21/2012 for a stay in July 2012

My husband and I, along with our dog Jack, had a wonderful two night getaway at Hummingbird Hill B&B; early this July. As two high school teachers, we were desperate for some rest, relaxation, and quiet time, and this B&B; provided it all. We found the accommodations spacious and very comfortable. The fresh breakfast granola was a lovely treat, the baskets of books around every corner provided a wide selection of reading material every day, and the plush bathrobes were luxurious.
Hummingbird Hill lived up to its name as there were many, many hummingbirds that flew around Jill’s lovely garden. The view from our private patio was spectacular, which we enjoyed while relaxing in the patio chairs and lounging in the hot tub. The hot tub could have been a bit hotter, but we enjoyed it nonetheless.
We would highly recommend this B&B; to families, couples, and single travelers. We are looking forward to going back soon!

Show more

  • Kerstin

OR

“On top of the world at Hummingbird Hill – and oh, so comfy”

 

Left on 07/19/2012 for a stay in June 2012

We could not believe out luck to have scored such a wonderful place to spend a week at Hummingbird Hill! The view was breathtaking, the accommodations were comforting, and Jill welcomed us with a heart as big as the out-of-doors. Hummingbirds danced every night, and a healthy, tasty breakfast showed up every morning. Wait until you taste the granola! Thanks, Jill, for sharing your corner of the sky with us.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Kelowna

“A peaceful getaway with a lovely hostess”

 

Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012

A great spot to stay. Jill has thought of everything you might need and makes you feel at home. The suite is private and has a little fenced
Outdoor area perfect for the dog. Dog friendly space, includes treats for
Fido and even towels to wipe muddy dog paws! The view is spectacular, the hot tub is divine, and breakfast very tasty! I love that you could bring food and prepare a meal in your own little kitchenette!

I will return here many times in the future and my dog can’t wait to go back!!!

  • “Beautiful food, view and very friendly and eager hosts (includin”

 

Left on 06/22/2012 for a stay in June 2012

The view was stunning, the breakfast rich and generous, the dogs super silly and friendly and jill, the owner of the hummingbird, very friendly and funny and helpful.

if the weather is good, i highly recommend the tea house — solitude and beauty and jill will even leave you a warm bathrobe.

shayna

Show more

  • Kelly

BC

“Beautiful accommodations for our whole family including the furr”

 

Left on 06/19/2012 for a stay in April 2012

Such a lovely view and gardens. Room for me, my husband and two teenagers and the best part, our dog. Not many places will take a dog over 25 or 30 pounds and while our girl is not huge, she is not welcome in many hotels. We felt so welcome by our host and her dogs and were pampered all weekend. And what a view and surrounding – the gardens are amazing. We will certainly be back next time we have an event on Saltspring.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Victoria

“Beautiful, tranquil, and affordable!”

 

Left on 06/18/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our Hummingbird Hill experience was amazing! The accommodations were equipped with a patio with an outstanding view. Our place was quiet, peaceful, and private. The owner was very friendly and made us some wonderful granola for breakfast. And, on top of this, I found it to be incredibly affordable for the amount of space and luxury we had. We actually changed our vacation plans to include more time at the accommodation because we were so pleased. I highly recommend Hummingbird Hill.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

New Westminster

“Gorgeous views, generous host, relaxation supreme”

 

Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Hummingbird Hill has it all. The views from atop the mountain are spectacular- trees, pastures of sheep, the ocean, the mountains. I found myself inhaling deeply, and sighing with satisfaction during my whole stay. Never have I seen so many hummingbirds at one time, nor so many flowers. Jill is an amazing gardener and a generous, fun, welcoming hostess. The tea house is a delight, warm and cozy. And the suite in the house is quite luxurious – hot tub looking out across the valley, everything meticulously clean and beautifully appointed.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“A gem on Saltspring!”

 

Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in June 2012

Hummingbird Hill B & B surpassed our expectations! It was very clean and comfortable, with a wonderful view out over Echo Valley, the forest of nearby Ruckle Park and the ocean. The gardens and property were so nicely laid out and beautifully kept. Jill went out of her way to make sure we had everything we could possibly need and she certainly made us feel that her home was our home while we were there. The breakfast that she delivered to the suite entrance was simple and delicious and to supplement what she provided in the morning, the pantry and fridge were stalked with a nice selection of healthy cereals, home-made granola, jams and local eggs.
Jill goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome, comfortable and pampered.

Show more

  • Alison McLennan

British Columbia

“Hummingbird B&B-Saltspring; Island”

 

Left on 04/09/2012 for a stay in April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hummingbird B&B; for the Easter weekend. We have travelled to the island before however this was our first mother-daughter weekend to a B&B.; Everything was fabulous from the delightful breakfast to the cozy bedrooms and sitting room. The gardens are amazing and the views are breathtaking!!! My family and I will definitely be staying at Hummingbird B&B; again! Awesome to spend the evenings and mornings watching the hummingbirds in the garden!! Amazing! Thank you Jill. You have a beautiful accommodation! From the B&B; we drove down the road and had a wonderful hike through Ruckle Park to King Cove!

Show more

  • Jen, Hamid and Kobe

BC

“A perfect dog friendly peaceful getaway!”

 

Left on 03/09/2012 for a stay in February 2012

My husband, 6 year old labrador, Kobe and I took off to Salt Spring Island for a nice peaceful winter getaway. Despite the rain for almost the entire time, we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. The suite is very comfortable, warm and inviting. In front of the fireplace served as a great place to put our feet up with a book and have a scrabble game. We spent most of the second day curled up watching movies, and listening to the rain. There was a hot tub, but it was brand new and didn’t get warm enough for us to use until Sunday, but we made use of it after a walk with our dog Kobe and the 2 fabulous resident dogs, Ben and Raymond that Kobe made instant friends with. The view from the hot tub is amazing, overlooking the beautiful, peaceful fields below. There were lots of homemade treats waiting for us, and we couldn’t get enough of the freshly made granola. Jill was a wonderful host, and made us feel completely comfortable, even offering to take Kobe with her on her walk with her 2 wonderful dogs.

We can not wait to get back to Hummingbird Hill, and hope for better weather, so we can enjoy the wonderful private deck, bbq and more of that decadent cliffhanger hot tub.

I have already shared our wonderful experience with friends and Kobe has told his friends about it too 😉

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Vancouver

“Stunning views in a tranquil Westcoast Japanese garden heaven.”

 

Left on 03/02/2012 for a stay in February 2012

Situated atop a hill the Hummingbird is like a little Japanese themed paradise. A comfortably large suite (~700 sq.ft) with a private exit to a hot tub that overlooks the ocean and neighbouring islands. After a hike in Ruckle park, relaxing in the hot tub was exactly what we wanted.

The location is a 30min drive to downtown Ganges and a quick 10 minutes to the Fulford ferry.

Jill was extremely welcoming and baked us fresh muffins in the morning. Her dogs played with ours and our 1 year old baby was the center of attention. We felt like we were visiting family 🙂

The suite was clean and well maintained with a mini kitchenette and all the basics one would need. The only thing I’d recommend is to bring slippers as the dining room tiles can be cold on the feet. The rest of the place has carpetting.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Show more

  • Jeff

B.C.

“Peaceful Paradise”

 

Left on 02/02/2012 for a stay in July 2011

We have stayed twice with Jill and the 4 legged boys now, and I must say Hummingbird Hill is a special place. Jill is a great host, there if you need her, yet gives you all the space and freedom you desire. Ben, Ray, and the neighbors dog Tucker are always happy to see you, and love a good stick throw. The suite is large and comfortable, the bed is toasty warm, and the view is great. Very quiet, you can hear the buzz of the ever present Hummingbirds, and hear the odd call from the goats in the meadow below.

Great place, Jeff & Julie Vancouver, B.C.

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Brentwood Bay B.C.

“It was difficult to leave”

 

Left on 01/30/2012 for a stay in June 2011

My 3 night stay at Hummingbird Hill was perfect ! I was needing some well deserved alone/recharging time & I got it.
The road up to the house is a bit bumpy so go slow and when you near the place a golden retriever may suddenly pop out of the trees to greet you.
The place is quite private, the wee kitchen was well stocked, the bed in the large bedroom was oh so comfy but it was the view that kept me from heading out. Lovely vistas from a private balcony off the bedroom, with it’s own wee garden, plenty of hummingbirds along with other birds poking around the flora, I had a difficult time leaving the place to check out the rest of Salt Spring Island.
The owner, Jill, is very friendly, knowledgeable and completely respects your privacy. You are allowed to walk her beautiful gardens, have a sit in the Japanese tea house and meditate or simply enjoy the views.
There were two friendly dogs, one big, one small. The small one managed to find it’s way to the private patio but it’s easy enough to place a rock by your private gate if you would rather not have any furry visitor.
There’s a drawer of movies to watch too but I spent most of my time on the balcony watching the Salt Spring scenery while reading a few vintage cartoon books from the big basket of books provided. In the evening the balcony can be lit with twinkling lights intertwined among the stunning wisteria and beams.
A big ‘thumbs up’ and hug for the owner Jill, for creating such a lovely relaxing home away from home. I really hope to be back again soon.

Tracy

 

  • “Everything was fantastic.”

 

Left on 01/26/2012 for a stay in August 2011

I love the place, Jill is a wonderful host, the suite I stayed in is beautiful and loved the deck overlooking the beautiful flowers. Absolutely sparkling clean and very nicely decorated and very comfortable.

Show more

  • Janna

BC

“Unbelievable stay in a beautiful suite in a lovely forest settin”

 

Left on 01/18/2012 for a stay in November 2011

The service we received at Hummingbird was exceptional. The suite was cozy, warm and very welcoming. Great kitchen area and breakfast goodies. Bed was great! The location was in a quiet part of Salt Spring Island and the house was located in a “forest” with great views looking out onto the farmland. Also fully fenced! out dog Maggie loved running around. Jill was very gracious as we had to cut our stay because I was sick, and she said we could stay past checkout and stay until ready to go to the ferry; that is true customer service!

We will be back the next time we come to visit our friend on Salt Spring. Thanks so much Jill.

regards

Janna, Pat and Maggie

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Richmond

“It really is a dog’s life, fantastic for owners too!!”

 

Left on 01/17/2012 for a stay in September 2011

We had a wonderful week in beautiful surroundings, lovely balcony with garden off the main bedroom where we enjoyed breakfasting on home-made goodies each morning while watching the sunrise. Jill was very warm and friendly, most accommodating but not intrusive.Our dog was in seventh heaven playing with Jill’s two dogs all week, it was a wonderful experience for her. The cottage is nicely located and well stocked, also well situated on the island for accessing the lakes, markets, shops, banks and community events. Quick ferry ride to Victoria, also to Crofton and other Gulf Islands. Wonderful time!!

Show more

  • Christmas Relaxation With My Mum & Basset Hound

BC

“Relaxing and Quiet”

 

Left on 01/17/2012 for a stay in December 2011

My Mum and I stayed for a couple of days with our 2 year old Basset Hound, Katie over Christmas. We had such a wonderful stay we would do it again! Enjoyed the peacefulness, and Jill’s dogs, Ben and Ray. Our suite was cosy and warm, the rooms were comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. Perfect for any stay.. hoping to visit again soon in 2012!

Show more

  • A FlipKey verified reviewer

Edmonds

“Best host best suite best view and the hummingbirds are a real t”

 

Left on 01/16/2012 for a stay in May 2011

We were tent camping at ruckle and got rained out. We had a blind Schnauzer and were very happy to be put up at hummingbird hill. Jill took us under her wing. Made us feel welcome. We took showers and got warmed up so we could enjoy the great decor, looked at a few books and watched the hummingbird experience. Very comfy quarters and enjoyed our private breakfast. Then a tour of the place by Jill and the pups. Then back to Edmonds Washington. Thanks for a very fine stay.